THE Ribblesdale Cricket League is finally up and running having been delayed for several months due to the Covid-19 outbreak.

A slimmed down version of the league will take place with each team playing each other once – rather than home and away – while the T20 Cup competition will be a straight knockout.

The delay didn’t seem to affect Ribblesdale Wanderers too much as they chalked up the highest score of the day against Brinscall as they closed with an impressive total of 192-6 with Ryan Canning scoring 64 while Singh-Parker weighed in with 51.

In reply, Brinscall were all out for 119, with three wickets each for Jordan Britcliffe and Canning to give Ribblesdale victory by 73 runs.

Cherry Tree welcomed Read with the hosts winning the toss and electing to bat but lost three quick wickets with just six runs on the board

Michael Timmis and Craig Kennedy looked to repair the damage with a mixture of gritty defence and some attacking shots and put on 56 for the fourth wicket, with Timmis (19) and Kennedy top scoring with 39.

The spin pairing of Warren Eastham (1-14) and Jamie Woodhall (3-15) kept the pressure on and eventually bowled Cherry Tree out for 111 in the final over.

In reply, Read were reduced to 13-2 with James Cuff taking both wickets in a spell of 2-15 off eight overs. However, Opener Joel Duerden with 29, supported by Duncan Bennett 17 and Thomas Turner 24, got the score up to the 100 mark.

Cherry Tree claimed three late wickets to keep the pressure on but Read got home with three wickets in hand. Robert Ince took 2-12 and Jack Woolridge 2-21. Champions Settle took on Section B winners Barnoldswick and eased to a six-wicket victory.

Barlick won the toss and elected to bat and made 124-8 in their 40 overs.

In reply, Settle made 125-4 to win by six wickets with seven overs to spare.

Hassan Fazal produced a fine all-round performance as Feniscowles beat last season’s title contenders Salesbury.

Fazal scored 59 – including four fours and four sixes – as Feniscowles were dismissed for 141.

Liam Pearson (3-28) and Liam Parkinson (4-12) were the pick of the Salesbury bowlers.

Salesbury got off to a poor start as they were reduced to 12-4 but Pearson followed up his bowling performance with 68 runs.

At 107-5 Salesbury looked in a good position to go on to win but with the fall of Pearson they collapsed to 126 all out to give Feniscowles a win by 15 runs with Mark McGovern (4-13) and Fazal who also took 4-13 doing the damage.

Earby batted first against Padiham and an early finish looked on the cards as they were reduced to 39-6, with Nathan Whitehead doing the early damage taking 4-21.

Jake Hargreaves (52) and Joseph Robinson (21) steadied the ship and enabled them to post 138 -9. Jimmy Gray chipped in with 3-23.

Padiham’s cause was helped by Earby conceding 60 extras including more than 40 wides. Bradley Graham top scored with 25 as they eased home by four wickets with 12 overs to spare.

The match between Oswaldtwistle and Whalley ended in a tie. Oswaldtwistle batted first and raced to 99-3, thanks to Phil Howard 26 and Francis Kinsella 32. However, they collapsed to 114 all out, Joseph Tattersall taking 5-21 and Nathan Mashiter 3-17.

Despite 33 from opener Jack Edgar, Whalley lost wickets on a regular basis.

In a tense last over the last pair managed to get enough runs to tie the match ending their 40 overs on 114-9. Kurt Smithson took 3-23.

The first round of the T20 Trophy takes place on Sunday. Fixtures: Settle v Earby, Whalley v Read, Cherry Tree v Ribblesdale Wanderers, Ossie Immanuel v Salesbury