BOLTON boxing hero Amir Khan finished out of the honours in last night’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year contest.

The title went to top cyclist Mark Cavendish, with Irish golfer Darren Clarke named as runner-up. In third place was Mo Farah, the track and field athlete.

Other winners were former jockey Bob Champion who took the Helen Rollason award.

The Lifetime Achievement award was won by rower Sir Steve Redgrave, the five times Olympic gold medal winner.