BURNLEY boss Sean Dyche has missed out on the LMA's Championship manager of the year award to Leicester City's Nigel Pearson.

Pearson was announced as the winner at an awards ceremony in London tonight after guiding Leicester to the Championship title.

He pipped Dyche to the award despite the Clarets boss securing automatic promotion against all odds this season.

Dyche - but not Pearson - made the final shortlist for the overall LMA manager of the year award together with Liverpool's Brendan Rodgers, Crystal Palace's Tony Pulis and Everton's Roberto Martinez. Rodgers won the honour.

Bournemouth's former Burnley boss Eddie Howe and Wigan's Uwe Rosler were also contenders for the Championship award.

Former Burnley assistant boss Russ Wilcox won the League Two manager of the year award after taking Scunthorpe United to automatic promotion.

He also claimed a special rmerit award, which he received from Sir Alex Ferguson, for breaking a world record with a 28-match unbeaten start to his reign as Scunthorpe boss.

Pulis won the Premier League award, while Wolves' Kenny Jackett and Leyton Orient's Russell Slade shared the League One honour.