BURNLEY striker Danny Ings has been announced as the Championship player of the year at tonight's Football League awards.

Ings fended off competition from Leicester City's Danny Drinkwater and Leeds United's Ross McCormack to win the award, which he received in person at a ceremony at the Brewery in London.

The forward missed Burnley's 2-1 win over Leeds yesterday because of an ankle injury and confirmed during the awards that he would be seeing a specialist on Wednesday.

Ings has scored 25 times for Burnley this season to help them to second in the table, and he has also netted twice for the England under 21 team.

The award was voted for by the managers of the 24 clubs in the Championship.

Receiving the honour, Ings said: "It's fantastic to see that the managers highly rate you, obviously coming up against them and giving them problems in games and taking that into Burnley's season, it's been fantastic."

Former Accrington Stanley winger Gary Roberts, now with Chesterfield, was named as the League Two player of the year.

Ex-Burnley midfielder Kevin McDonald, of Wolves, missed out on the League One award to Brentford's Adam Forshaw.