If you think surfing, Skype and synch sound like sports activities, then a new campaign may be for you.

It is aimed at getting more people using the internet on a regular basis so that they benefit from doing things online.

The campaign, targeting people who don’t really know where to start with the internet, kicks off with a Techy Tea Party at Tatton Community Centre on Thursday, July 30.

Chorley Council also intends to make greater use of digital services to improve efficiency and ultimately save council taxpayers money and to make the most of this people need to know what services they can access online, how they do it and what the benefits are.

The ‘techy tea party’ is being held at Tatton Community Centre, Silverdale Road, on Thursday, July 30 from 1.30pm-4.30pm.

The training sessions, in partnership with learndirect, are being held at: Tatton Community Centre on Tuesday, August 4, 10am-1pm, Thursday, August 6, 1.30pm-4.30pm, Tuesday, August 11, 10am-1pm, Thursday, August 13, 1.30pm-4.30pm and Thursday, August 13, 7pm-9.30pm.

Clayton Brook Community Centre hosts sessions on Monday, August 17, 1pm-4.30pm, Friday, August 21, 1.30pm-4.30pm and Saturday August 22, 1.30pm-4.30pm.

Astley Village Community Centre have less on Thursday, August 27, 4pm-7pm and Saturday, August 29, 1.30pm-4.30pm.

Eaves Green Community Centre, Monday, September 7, 1.30pm-4.30pm, Thursday, September 10, 3pm-6pm and Wednesday, September 16, 7pm-9.30pm.

Fairview Community Centre, Adlington has sessions on Tuesday, September 15, 10am-1pm, Tuesday, September 17, 1.30pm-4.30pm and Saturday, September 19, 1.30pm-4.30pm

To book call 01257 515151, or for those with internet access, email contact@chorley.gov.uk.