Full list of candidates in 2014 Bury Council elections

Bury Town Hall

Bury Town Hall

First published in This Is Lancashire: Photograph of the Author by , reporter

75 candidates will be standing in May’s local council elections - with one third of Bury Council’s 51 seats up for grabs when polls open on May 22.

The Labour and Conservative parties are contesting all 17 seats, while Liberal Democrat candidates are standing in 15 seats, matched by the Green Party, which has also put forward 15 candidates.

Nine UK Independence Party (UKIP) candidates will stand, while the list is completed by a candidate for English Democrats, and one for English Democrats — Putting England First.

Bury Council is Labour controlled, and is made up of 35 Labour councillors, 13 Conservatives, two Liberal Democrats and one independent.

Two Labour councillors will not be defending their seats: Ken Audin, who represents Besses, and Ann Audin, an Unsworth councillor.

Six Conservative councillors are standing for re-election.

Nine Labour councillors are also defending their seats along with both of the sitting Liberal Democrat councillors.

Anyone who is not on the electoral register must contact the council by Tuesday and a request for a postal or proxy vote must be made by Wednesday.

The European elections are being held on the same day, and will see 11 political parties contest eight European Parliament seats representing the North West of England.

Bury Council’s election votes will be counted on May 23 and the European election count will take place on May 25, after polls have closed across Europe.

For inquiries: call 0161 253 5252 or email electionservices@bury.gov.uk.

Full list of candidates:

Zadok Day (Con)
Larissa Heath (Green)
Steve Middleton (Lib Dem)
Stephen Morris (English Democrats – Putting England First)
Mary Whitby (Lab)

Ann Garner (Lib Dem)
Andrew McAnulty (Lab)
Patrick Neill (Green)
Susan Nuttall (Con) *

Trevor Holt (Lab) *
Gregory Keeley (Con)
Shaf Mahmood (UKIP)
Eva Stewart (Green)

Andrew Garner (Lib Dem)
Michael Hankey (Con) *
Graeme Kerby (UKIP)
Sarah Kerrison (Lab)
Julie Southworth (Green)

Timothy Pickstone (Lib Dem) *
Catherine Preston (Lab)
Zain Shah (Con)

Nabila Afilal (Con)
Anne Beckett (Green)
Victor Hagan (UKIP)
Sandra Walmsley (Lab) *

Ewan Arthur (Lib Dem)
James Daly (Con) *
Mary Heath (Green)
Tanya Kay (UKIP)
Steven Treadgold (Lab)

Peter Curati (Green)
Wilfrid Davison (Lib Dem)
John Mallon (Lab)
John Parkinson (UKIP)
Bernie Vincent (Con) *

Samantha Davies (Con)
Nicole Haydock (Green)
Joanne O’Hanlon (Lib Dem)
Nick Parnell (Lab) *

Carl Curran (Con)
Jane Lewis (Lab) *
Rodney Rew (Lib Dem)
John Southworth (Green)

Stephen Dillon (Green)
Kamran Islam (Lib Dem)
Katy Rothwell (Con)
Rishi Shori (Lab) *

David Barker (UKIP)
Ian Bevan (Con) *
Mary D’Albert (Lib Dem)
Glyn Heath (Green)
Sarah Southworth (Lab)

Bill Brison (Green)
Mike Harling (UKIP)
Gareth Lloyd-Johnson (Lib Dem)
Luis McBriar (Con)
Tamoor Tariq (Lab) *

Kamila Laing (Green)
David Lewis (Con)
Alan Quinn (Lab) *
Steven Wright (Lib Dem)

Paul Deaville (Green)
Eamonn O’Brien (Lab)
Donal O’Hanlon (Lib Dem) *
Denise Ormrod (Con)

David Foss (Lib Dem)
Iain Gartside (Con) *
Judith Kelly (Lab)
Zarrin Shannon (Green)
Walter Southworth (UKIP)

Paul Adams (Lab)
Richard Cowen (Con)
Steve Evans (UKIP)
Katriona Middleton (Lib Dem)
Valerie Morris (English Democrats)

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree